Home » Posts tagged Lavinia

Faculty of Graduate Studies recognizes class of 2014

A total of 431 graduate degrees – seven PhD, 424 master’s – were conferred during the recent Spring Convocation ceremonies.“It was a privilege for me to shake hands with our graduates during Convocation week and personally congratulate them on their accomplishments,” says Mike Plyley, Dean, Faculty of Graduate Studies. “This Convocation marks our largest graduating class ever and I believe this serves as a measure of Brock’s growing reputation for graduate education. Beginning in the fall, our enrolment will be just shy of 1,800 and we expect to push past 2,000 before long.“The size of our graduating classes also demonstrates the commitment on the part of students, and the support they receive from supervisors, to stay on track with their studies and to complete degrees in the recommended time period. ”During convocation, the University also acknowledged master’s and doctoral students for their academic and research excellence with the following awards:Governor General’s Gold Medal:Yin Xu, MSc in Mathematics and Statistics, overall average 95.8 per cent(The medal recognizes excellence in academic studies at the graduate level and is presented to a student with the highest overall average in a graduate program.)Jack M. Miller Excellence in Research Award:Rebecca MacPherson, PhD in Applied Health SciencesMinyoung Pyo, MSc in ManagementGillian Fournier, Master of EducationSnezana Ratkovic, PhD in Educational StudiesTessa Little, MA in ClassicsLaurie Anne Sherry-Kirk, MA in Social Justice and Equity StudiesDistinguished Graduate Student AwardSpring 2014 ConvocationShannon Demain Borch, Master of Applied Disability StudiesRebecca MacPherson, PhD in Applied Health SciencesKristin Schaven, MSc in Biological SciencesCaitlin Heit, MSc in BiotechnologyNicolas McLeod, MSc in ChemistryTamara McEachern, MA in Child and Youth StudiesMohammad Goodarzi, MSc in Computer ScienceKenton Engel, MA in Critical SociologySnezana Ratkovic, PhD in Educational StudiesMinyoung Pyo, MSc in ManagementYin Xu, MSc in Mathematics and StatisticsHugo Chesshire, MA in Political ScienceKatherine Elizabeth Rankin, MA in Popular CultureMark Hoffarth, MA in PsychologyMenelik Girma, MA in Social Justice and Equity StudiesShuoqian Gao, Master of Business AdministrationSpirit of Brock awards:Hayley Morrison (Applied Health Sciences)Shalini Dass (Education)Shuoqian (Athena) Gao (Goodman School of Business)Shaunna Hubert (Humanities)Kristin Schaven (Mathematics and Science)Amanda Bolger (Social Sciences)Jack Noble Book Prize:Karen Ann Pacheco, Master of EducationDr. Michael Kompf Book Prize:Gillian Fournier, Master of EducationJohn Edds Prize in Master of Accountancy:James Pepple, Master of Accountancy read more

Continue reading